An aerial photo of the UCSC campus at sunset with cloud cover and campus buildings lit up.

Meet the Team

Get in touch at alumni@ucsc.edu.

Return to the Redwoods 2023

Alumni Engagement Office

Our mission is to cultivate lifelong connections, celebrate shared experiences, and inspire impactful contributions to encourage a thriving UCSC alumni community. Get in touch with the Alumni Engagement Office at:

alumni@ucsc.edu
+1-831-459-3444

John Pine

(he/him/his)

John D. Pine

Assistant Vice Chancellor of Alumni Engagement
john.pine@ucsc.edu 

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

I love getting a coffee and taking a walk on West Cliff. And then I will take any excuse to stop by the Boardwalk and ride the Giant Dipper!

Shayna Kent

(she/her/hers)

Shayna Kent

Executive Director of Alumni Engagement
skent1@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

I love walking through the old growth redwood groves, especially in Henry Cowell State Park and exploring the many beaches in Santa Cruz. 

Sydne Raiyn

(she/her/hers)

Sydne Raiyn

Associate Director of Alumni Diversity Programs
sraiyn@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

My favorite activities in Santa Cruz are running by the beach and enjoying a meal at Jack O’Neill’s with ocean views! I also enjoy a sweet staycation at Chaminade Resort & Spa.

Lauren Taylor

(she/her/hers)

Lauren Taylor

Associate Director of Signature Programs and Local Alumni Outreach
lachtayl@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

My favorite activity to do in Santa Cruz is exploring all of our beautiful beaches and parks!

Barbara Oden-Petree

(she/her/hers)

Barbara Oden-Petree

Associate Director of Volunteer Programs & Alumni Recognition
baoden@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

It’s a toss up between walking under the redwoods on the UCSC campus and walking West Cliff while staring out at the ocean.

Kayla Judd

(she/her/hers)

Kayla Judd

(Cowell ’14, Cognitive Science)

Assistant Director of Alumni Regional Programs
kjudd@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

While I was a student you could always find me at work or with friends at the Cowell Coffee Shop, it was my happy place. Now, as an alum and staff member, I sneak in a walk along West Cliff whenever I’m able.

Jesse Majane

(she/her/hers)

Jesse Majane

Assistant Director for Alumni Outreach and Programs
jmajane@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

People watching in Santa Cruz never gets old… and exploring new coffee shops, of course.

Neelofar Husin

(she/her/hers)

Neelofar Husin

Operations Administrative Assistant
nhusin@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

Walks on West Cliff and having brunch at the Dream Inn.

Tracy Murray

(she/her/hers)

Tracy Murray

(Porter ’94, Women’s Studies with a Thematic Emphasis in Jewish Studies)

Corporate Development & Alumni Career Programs Manager
tlmurray@ucsc.edu

Favorite Santa Cruz location or activity

I love paddleboarding in the harbor.  There’s so much up-close sea life and boats to see, it is much tamer than the open water, and has easy access to snacks at the marketplace!