Outstanding Staff Award

Celebrating this year’s Outstanding Staff Award winners

The Outstanding Staff Award, established by the UC Santa Cruz Alumni Association in 1995, is presented annually in collaboration with the UCSC Staff Advisory Board to recognize sustained, distinguished service by staff to student life, the growth and improvement of UCSC's programs, and the preservation of UCSC's unique intellectual and physical environment. This award honors the very best among our dedicated UCSC staff. 

So many staff members went above and beyond during 2020-2021. It was a year filled with continual changes and challenges for us all, and we worked together through the unexpected and urgent situations brought about by COVID-19 and wildfire threats in our community. We recognize the tireless commitment and dedication of so many staff as we honor five among us.

While it is customary to name one winner each year, we are honoring four honorable mentions in light of this unprecedented year. Join us in celebrating this year’s honorees and read more about them.

Outstanding Staff Award Winner:

Michael J. Luttrell
Operations Manager, Conference Services, CHES, Student Health Services, Student Affairs & Success.

This year’s Outstanding Staff Award winner, Michael Luttrell, was temporarily redeployed from conference services to managing COVID-19 testing. He showed versatility, grace, and good humor under pressure as he worked hard to keep the campus safe during a chaotic year of pandemic fears and a devastating wildfire. 

Michael Luttrell

Honorable Mentions:

Rocio De La Cruz
Sr. Custodial Supervisor, Physical Planning Development & Operations - Physical Plant Services 

Rociio De La Cruz

Frank Dang
Student Health Services IT Lead

Frank Dang

Christina Lombardo
Industrial Hygiene Specialist, Environmental Health & Safety

Christina Lombardo

Michael Tassio
Director, UC Santa Cruz Online Education; Chief of Staff, Academic Affairs

Michael Tassio


The following comprise just a few of the thousands of UC Santa Cruz staff members who work to change the lives of students every day on our campus and who keep UC Santa Cruz an uncommon place.



Michael J. Luttrell, Operations Manager, Conference Services, CHES, Student Health Services, Student Affairs & Success


Yulianna Ortega, STEM Diversity Programs director, Physical & Biological Sciences Division


Stacey Sketo-Rosener, Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Advising


Judy Scarborough, Academic Personnel Manager for the Division of Undergraduate Education


Irena Polić, Managing Director, The Humanities Institute


Jan Cloud, Assistant Dean, Arts Division


Wendy Baxter, Director of Academic and CoCurricular Programs


Margie Claxton, Associate Registrar, Office of the Registrar


Elaine Kihara, Academic Preceptor, Oakes College


Anne Callahan, Academic Human Resources Manager, Humanities Division


Michael McCawley, Associate Director, Admissions Program


Tanya Honig, Manager, Department of Linguistics


Rosie Cabrera, Director of El Centro, UCSC's Chicano/Latino student resource center


Bob Hastings, Director of Current Students Services, Division of Graduate Studies


Lynne Wolcott, Academic Adviser at Cowell, 1981-2006; Since 2006, campus Coordinator for Academic Advising


Corinne Miller, Director, Services to Transfer and Re-Entry Students (STARS)


Cheryl Perazzo, Scholarships Advisor, Financial Aid Office


Carol Douglas-Hammer, Assistant Director for University Housing Services


Joseph Weiss, Technical Production director and Operations Manager for the Theater Arts Department


Betsy Wootten, Faculty Services Supervisor, Kresge College


David Kirk, Media Specialist, McHenry Library


Nicolette Czarrunchick (Kresge '93, Women's Studies), Manager, Women's Studies Department


Pam Lawson, Manager, Literature Department


Angie Christmann, College Programs Coordinator, Cowell College


Brenda Brown, Academic Advisor, Crown College


Susan F. Curtis, Administrative Manager, Board of Studies in Sociology